DFEH Guidelines for Requesting Public Records
DFEH records are available to the public, except for cases that are still under investigation. The Custodian of Records holds complaint records for three years and, upon request, will make them available during business hours – Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm, excluding holidays.
Make a Request for Records
DFEH records are subject to the California Public Records Act. Under this law and applicable legal privileges, certain categories of records are available to the public and others are exempt from public disclosure. DFEH Directive 600 explains our process and what may be disclosed, when, and how. Generally, DFEH will not release records or information about specific open cases.
Please provide as much detail as possible about the record(s) you want to see. You can request records three ways:
Via US mail. Send your request to:
Attention: PRA Unit – Custodian of Records
320 W. 4th Street, 10th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90013
- Via email
- Using our online California Civil Rights System (CCRS). All you need is a valid email address and phone number to create an account, then simply click on the Public Records Act Request button on the home screen.
- For more information contact DFEH
Under the California Public Records Act and applicable legal privileges, certain categories of records are available to the public and others are exempt from public disclosure. DFEH Directive 600 explains our process and what may be disclosed, when, and how. Generally, DFEH will not release records or information about specific open cases.
Within 10 days after the request is received, DFEH will confirm if it has the records and what the cost of the request will be. In some instances, the department may require more time or may seek more information from the requestor in order to process the request.
Public records in electronic form will be released in the format in which they are held. If a record exists in both electronic and hard copy formats, you can select either one.
While DFEH will disclose identifiable and existing public records as required by the California Public Records Act, DFEH is not required to create a new record or list from an existing record.
For more information on these please review the California Legislative Information.
If records are e-mailed to you, there is no cost.
There is a fee of 10 cents per page for hard copies of public records plus the costs of mailing them. You will receive an invoice before your request is processed and DFEH will not provide documents before payment is received.
There may be a fee of $24 per hour if your request requires the Department to compile records or extract information from an electronic record or undertake programming to satisfy your request. Once payment is received we will complete the processing of your request.
You will receive your information or copies 20 days after the DFEH receives payment. Please note that if payment is not received within 30 days, you will have to submit a new request.
DFEH provides assistance to anyone who needs help accessing and understanding our information. Please contact us to arrange an accommodation if you have a disability or need translation into your native language.
For an accommodation:
- Call 800-884-1684 (voice), 800-700-2320 (TTY) or California’s Relay Service at 711
- Email firstname.lastname@example.org for disability accommodations
For translation help: