
FAMILY CARE AND 
MEDICAL LEAVE 
FACT SHEET

The Fair Employment and Housing Act 
(FEHA), enforced by the Civil Rights 
Department (CRD), contains family care 
and medical leave provisions for  
California employees.
These leave provisions are known as the California 
Family Rights Act (CFRA). All employers must provide 
information about CFRA to their employees and 
post this information in a conspicuous place where 
employees tend to gather. A poster that meets 
this requirement is available on CRD’s “Posters, 
Brochures and Fact Sheets” webpage (www.
calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/).

LEAVE REQUIREMENTS 
• To be eligible for CFRA leave, an employee 

must have more than 12 months of service at 
an employer of five or more full- or part-time 
employees, and have worked at least 1,250 
hours for that employer in the 12-month period 
before the leave begins.

• An eligible employee may take job-protected 
leave to bond with a new child1 by birth, adoption, 
or foster care placement, within one year of the 
child’s birth, adoption, or foster placement.

• An eligible employee may take job-protected leave 
to care for a child, spouse, domestic partner, 
parent2, grandparent, grandchild, or sibling with 
a serious health condition. CFRA leave may also 
be taken for the employee’s own serious health 
condition.

1 “Child” means a biological, adopted, or foster child, a 
stepchild, a legal ward, or a child of an employee or the 
employee’s domestic partner, or a person to whom the 
employee stands in loco parentis.

2 “Parent” includes a biological, foster, or adoptive parent,  
a parent-in-law, a stepparent, a legal guardian, or other 
person who stood in loco parentis to the employee when  
the employee was a child. 

• An eligible employee may take job-protected 
leave for a qualifying exigency related to the 
covered active duty or call to covered active duty 
of a spouse, domestic partner, child, or parent 
in the Armed Forces of the United States.

• Employees may take leave of up to 12 work 
weeks in a 12-month period, proportional to an 
employee’s normal work schedule. The leave 
does not need to be taken in one continuous 
period of time. 

EMPLOYEE’S OBLIGATIONS
• An employer may require an employee to 

provide 30 days’ advance notice of the need 
for CFRA leave. When this is not possible due 
to the unexpected nature of the qualifying 
event, notice should be given as soon as 
practicable. Notice can be written or verbal and 
should include the timing and the anticipated 
duration of the leave, but an employer may not 
require disclosure of an underlying diagnosis. 
An employer must respond to a leave request 
as soon as possible and no later than 5 
business days.

• The employer may require written certification 
from the health-care provider of the individual 
with a serious health condition stating the 
reasons for the leave and the probable 
duration of the condition. However, the health-
care provider may not disclose the underlying 
diagnosis without the consent of the patient. 

SALARY AND BENEFITS DURING  
CFRA LEAVE
• Employers are not required to pay employees 

during a CFRA leave, but some employers 
do. In addition, an employee will be paid for 
any accrued paid time off they elect or are 
required to use. An employer may require an 
employee who is taking leave to care for a 
seriously ill family member or to bond with a 
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new child to use accrued vacation time or other 
accumulated paid leave other than sick time, 
unless the employee is receiving Paid Family 
Leave (see below). If the CFRA leave is for the 
employee’s own serious health condition, an 
employer may require use of accrued vacation 
and sick time, unless the employee is receiving 
State Disability Insurance.

• If the employer provides health benefits under 
a group plan, the employer must continue to 
make these benefits available during the leave. 
Similarly, the employee is entitled to continue 
accruing seniority and participate in other 
benefit plans.
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RETURN RIGHTS
• After CFRA leave, employees are guaranteed  

a return to the same or comparable position  
and can request the guarantee in writing.

• If the same position is no longer available, 
the employer must offer a position that is 
comparable in terms of pay, benefits, shift, 
schedule, geographic location, and working 
conditions, including privileges, perquisites,  
and status, unless the employer can prove  
that no comparable position exists. 

• An employee is not entitled to reinstatement  
if the employee would have been otherwise  
laid off or terminated for reasons unrelated  
to their leave.

PREGNANCY DISABILITY LEAVE
• In addition to CFRA leave, employers of five or 

more employees must provide job-protected 
leave or accommodations to employees 
disabled by pregnancy, childbirth, or a related 
medical condition. Pregnancy disability 
leave (PDL) is available while an employee is 
actually disabled, up to a total of four months. 
This includes time off needed for prenatal 
or postnatal care, severe morning sickness, 
doctor-ordered bed rest, childbirth, recovery 
from childbirth, loss or end of pregnancy, or 

any other related medical condition. For more 
information, visit: www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/
family-medical-pregnancy-leave/.

• Employees are entitled to take PDL in addition  
to any leave entitlement under CFRA. 

STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) OR  
PAID FAMILY LEAVE (PFL)
• Employees who are eligible for SDI may receive 

partial wage replacement for a non-work-related 
illness, injury, or pregnancy. 

• PFL provides benefits to individuals who need to 
take time off work to care for a family member, 
to bond with a new child (by birth, adoption, or 
foster care placement), or for military exigencies. 
PFL cannot be taken at the same time as SDI.

• SDI and PFL are administered by the 
Employment Development Department (EDD), 
not CRD. For more information, contact  
EDD at 800.480.3287 or visit:  
www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/Paid_Family_Leave.htm 
or www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/About_DI.htm. 

If you have been subjected to discrimination, 
harassment, or retaliation at work, or have been 
improperly denied leave or reinstatement under 
CFRA or PDL, file a complaint with CRD.

TO FILE A COMPLAINT
Civil Rights Department
calcivilrights.ca.gov/complaintprocess 
Toll Free: 800.884.1684    
TTY: 800.700.2320
California Relay Service (711)

Have a disability that requires a reasonable 
accommodation? CRD can assist you with your 
complaint.

For translations of this guidance, visit:
www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/employment

This guidance is for informational purposes only, does not establish 
substantive policy or rights, and does not constitute legal advice.
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