
Sexual Harassment 
Prevention Training 
For Employees

California law requires that all employers of 5 or more employees provide 
1 hour of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to 
nonsupervisory employees, and 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive 
conduct prevention training to supervisory employees, every two years.  
The next training deadline is January 1, 2023. 
The Civil Rights Department (CRD) offers free online trainings that satisfy these 
requirements – one for supervisors and one for non-supervisors. Both trainings 
are available in Chinese, English, Korean, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese 
(CLICK HERE TO ACCESS THE TRAININGS). The law requires CRD to produce and 
post both training courses to its website, which employers may use instead of 
hiring a trainer. 
An employer is required to train its California-based employees so long as it 
employs 5 or more employees anywhere, even if they do not work at the same 
location and even if not all of them work or reside in California.

Why is this training required?
California takes sexual harassment very seriously, and it is against the law. Despite greater 
awareness of sexual harassment and its harms, many workers are still subjected to 
harassment because of their sex or other protected characteristic. These trainings are legally 
required and designed to educate or remind everyone about what is – and is not – acceptable 
behavior in the workplace. 

Must I be trained?
If your employer has 5 or more employees, you must be trained, though the duration of your 
training will differ depending on your position. Nonsupervisory employees must receive 1 hour 
of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training and supervisory employees 
must receive 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training. 

How often must I be trained?
You must satisfy the training requirement every two years. 

By what date must I be trained? 
All employees must satisfy the training requirement by January 1, 2023. There are different 
timelines and training requirements for employees in supervisory and nonsupervisory 
positions, which your employer will go over. Employees must be retrained every two years. 
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If I am a temporary or seasonal employee, must I be trained?
Yes. If you were hired to work for less than six months, you must be trained within 30 calendar 
days from when you began working or 100 hours of work, whichever occurs first.

If I am an independent contractor, volunteer, or unpaid intern, must   
I be trained?
No.

Must the training be online, done individually, or completed all at once?
No. Your employer may provide training live in a classroom, online, or in any other effective, 
interactive format. The training may be completed by employees individually or as part of a 
group presentation, and may be completed in segments as long as the applicable hourly total 
requirement is met.

What does the training have to cover?
The training must include information and practical guidance regarding federal and state law 
concerning the prohibition against, and the prevention and correction of, sexual harassment 
and the remedies available to victims of sexual harassment. The training must also include 
practical examples of harassment, discrimination, and retaliation, as well as information about 
preventing abusive conduct and harassment based on sexual orientation, gender identity, and 
gender expression.

Do I have to take CRD’s training?
No. CRD is offering these trainings as a resource to help employers meet their obligation, but 
you do not have to use one of CRD’s trainings to satisfy the training requirements.

May I get more training than is legally required?
Yes. There is no maximum number of hours you may do. If you feel you would like to do more 
training, speak with your employer to see if more programs are available and if you can get 
time off or extra pay for doing more.

What if I received the training in compliance with Gov. Code 12950.1 within 
the prior two years either from a current, prior, alternate, or joint employer?  
Do I have to retake the training again?
No. See 2 CCR 11024(b)(6) regarding “Duplicate Training” for more information.

https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I679937735A0A11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&listSource=Search&originationContext=Search+Result&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&navigationPath=Search%2fv1%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0ad7140a00000182fa6bd4ef4354fa82%3fppcid%3d2bd6a875afe44b258ca741f495e02a60%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26fragmentIdentifier%3dI679937735A0A11EC8227000D3A7C4BC3%26startIndex%3d1%26transitionType%3dSearchItem%26contextData%3d%2528sc.Default%2529%26originationContext%3dSearch%2520Result&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&rank=1&t_T2=11024+&t_S1=CA+ADC+s
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If I am a trainer who is also an employee, do I need to receive sexual 
harassment prevention training in order for my employer to be compliant?
No. An individual who is a qualified training provider according to the regulations (and who 
does provide the training) does not need to participate in a separate sexual harassment 
prevention training for their employer to be in compliance with the training requirements.

If I am an employee located outside of California, am I required to be trained?
No. Employees located outside of California are not required to be trained.

After completing the training, do I need to submit any documentation of the 
training to my employer?
Your employer may require you to submit a certificate of training completion. Please consult 
your employer for direction.

What if I misplace or fail to save (or print) the certificate of completion, can I 
request a replacement copy?
No. CRD does not store or track your certificate or completion of this training. If you still have 
your training session open on your browser, you may try using the ‘PREVIOUS’ button to 
backstep and regenerate your certificate. Otherwise, you should retake the training to retrieve 
a certificate of completion.

Do I have to pay for sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention 
training? 
No. California law specifies that, “An employer… shall provide” sexual harassment and abusive 
conduct prevention training. Gov. Code 12950.1(a)-(b). It is the employer’s – not the employee’s 
– responsibility to provide the required training, including any costs that may be incurred. This 
language also makes clear that employees may not be required to take such training during 
their personal time; the training must be “provided” by the employer as part of an individual’s 
employment.

TO TAKE THE TRAINING
www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/shpt

This guidance is for informational purposes 
only, does not establish substantive policy or 
rights, and does not constitute legal advice.
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